Wednesday, February 19, 2014

History of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Philippines

The church obtained official recognition in the Philippines in 1961 when President Robert S. Taylor of the Southern Far East Mission filed the paperwork with the Philippine government.  Subsequently, the church rededicated the Philippines. This dedication was done by then-apostle Gordon B. Hinckley on 28 April 1961 in a meeting with Servicemen, American residents, and Filipino members.  The first American missionaries arrived in Manila two months later. One of the first converts after official recognition was the Jose Gutierez Sr. family. After the end of the years, six more were baptized.

Due to growth that followed, the Philippines was organized into its own mission by 1967.  In 1969, the church spread across the islands, having the highest amount of baptisms compared to every other area of the world.  This lead to the division of the Philippines mission in 1974 into two separate missions, the Philippine Manila Mission and the Cebu City Mission.

The first stake in the Philippines was formed in Manila in 20 May 1973.

Church President, Spencer W. Kimball, presided over two area conferences, one in 1975 and another in 1980.  During the area conference in 1980, President Kimball met with the Philippines President Ferdinand E. Marcos at the presidential palace.  Afterwards in 1987, Manila became the headquarters of the Philippines/Micronesia area.

The Book of Mormon was translated into Tagalog in 1987.  Translation of the Book of Mormon is now in several languages of the Philippines.

As of April 2013, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints reported 675,166 members in 85 stakes and 84 districts, 1,134 Congregations (537 wards and 597 branches, 21 missions, and 2 temples in the Philippines).


Overview of Philippines


1. Consists of an archipelago of 7,107 islands (~2,000 are occupied)
2. Population of 99 million people (7th largest in Asia, 12 largest in the world)
3. 41st largest economy in the world


Thursday, February 13, 2014

Maps of the Philippines and the Province of Negros Occidental, which occupies the northwestern half of Negros Island.  Bacolod is the captial of Negros Occidental Province.

National Flag of the Philippines